Why drink Vegan, and where can I find Vegan wine?

Free Run Juice

These days there are many more people out there that are conscious about their health, and who are also conscious about what’s in the glass, what’s on the label, and what additives etc are actually added in the making of that given wine.

‘Wines that are suitable for vegans’ is in a basic term, alcohol (in this case wine) that is free from any interaction with animals. The fact is that eggs, milk, fish bladders (otherwise known as fining agents) and sometimes even Gelatin are used in the process of alcohol production, and a lot of people are still unaware of this production method.

“The fining process” as it’s better known in the wine trade is a process where a substance (usually a fining agent) is added to the wine to create a bond with the suspended particles in the wine; therefore producing larger particles that will precipitate out of the wine more rapidly. Thanks to Wine Folly – for this very useful diagram of the Fining process.

vegan wines

Now there is speculation as to whether or not fining is actually needed in winemaking practices…most young wines if they’re left long enough will eventually reach the same state as fining achieves after a few months, but obviously, some larger winemakers don’t have time on their hands! The good news for you guys is that a lot of winemakers are dropping the use of animal-derived fining agents and are now starting to only use something called ‘bentonite’ – bentonite is a clay-based mineral, that has no animal links.

It is important to note that fining agents do not change the flavour of the wine. They are just used to improve the stability and clarity of the wine.

If you don’t know where to look, to find a vegan-friendly wine – we have tried, tested, and now listed a handful of these on the platform – just click here to view them!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *